IWSG-August

As I missed most of the discussion last month, I’m quite excited to participate in this months Insecure Writer’s Support Group monthly blog hop. If you don’t know about us, what we do, why we exist at this point, I’m pretty embarrassed for you. Seriously, do better. Check us out here. Sign up. Participate.

InsecureWritersSupportGroupBadge-300x295

It has been a very interesting month, writing wise. I spent two days working on a flash fiction challenge while trying to function on tiny amounts of sleep. I also spent a very stressful day tweeting different pitches for my three manuscripts during IWSGpit day. I didn’t get any nibbles from agents or publishers, and overall the day was difficult and frustrating. But I am grateful to the IWSG team for putting the event together, offering support to all the writers, and overall being super supportive and positive. Things may not have worked out as I’d hoped, but I am undeterred. Rumor has it another pitch party is on the calendar for January of 2018, and I will be sharpening my approaches to participate again.

Another positive thing- I’ve two stories in the final editing stage and plan to seek out places to submit them in the next two weeks. I really think I’m done sitting on the sidelines, hoping some miracle happens and my work magically finds someone who wants to publish it. I am the only one who can find that person, and it certainly won’t happen if I put in zero effort.

On the puppy front, Athena is growing and learning at a very fast pace. She is 14 weeks old, and weighed in at 32 pounds this morning. She still chews everything and has the occasional accident inside (almost always due to owner negligence), but her sweetness makes up for any bad moments. Here is a lovely photo of the two of us from the other day. Doggie.jpg

We were about to attend our second week of obedience training classes. It was socialization day, and the room was filled with all sorts of strange objects for the puppies to explore, climb on, into, over, through. My girl was all sorts of excited and brave. She still struggles with traffic noise, and the sight of moving cars frightens her. I hope continual exposure and positive experiences can do the trick. Wish us luck.

Tags: , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

19 responses to “IWSG-August”

  1. Crystal Collier says :

    Cute doggy. =) I’m sorry the pitch session didn’t go as well as you’d hoped. I’ve participated in a few of those before, and they’re brutal. Just trying to build a pitch that works… Whew! It’s worse than writing a query. Or rather, just as bad. I did the most learning from examining pitches that did grab attention–especially in my genre–and trying to imitate the successful approaches. By the end, I got quite a few bites, but I’m so out of practice now.

    Next time will be better, eh?

    • fenster says :

      Next time will be better, perhaps. Selling my story in such a confined space is hard, especially when I’m less than confident with my pitches. What frustrated me most was trying to reword the same ideas every hour. I need to be better prepared as well.

  2. Joey (BTaC Blog) says :

    The 140 character makes it tough to say anything. I don’t think Dickens would have gotten any nibbles under those circumstances.

    Best of luck in January and enjoy your beautiful puppy!

  3. Chrys Fey says :

    I’m sorry #IWSGPit Day was frustrating for you, but I’m glad that you’re not deterred by it. I’ve never had luck with pitch parties. As Crystal said, I struggle to write a good pitch in just 140 characters.

    I’m glad you’re going to start submitting your two stories. You have to take that first step. Good luck!

  4. Liesbet says :

    Good luck on all fronts! And, sorry to hear about the unsuccessful Twitter pitch party. But, now you have some practice. Writing query letters and pitching your stories (unlimited character count :-)) will be easier. You are taking initiative and you are determined, Ryan. That can only lead to good things, with the puppy and the stories.

  5. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    That’s a shame you didn’t get any nibbles from the Twitter pitch party 😦 I’d agree with what Liesbet says – your determination and initiative will lead to good things. Athena is adorable. I can’t imagine how big she’ll be when she’s full grown.

  6. Alex J. Cavanaugh (@AlexJCavanaugh) says :

    She’s a cutie!
    Sorry #IWSGPit day didn’t pan out for you. Yes, there will be another one in January, with a ton more publishers and agents.

  7. Diane Burton says :

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve pitched and gotten no nibbles. Same with entering contests. It’s wonderful when someone asks you to submit, but when you do and don’t hear from them again, it’s awful. Get those stories out there. You may get generic “this doesn’t meet our needs” and you may get some that say send more. What have you got to lose? Go for it.

    Love the dog. She looks so sweet.

    • fenster says :

      The dog is super sweet.

      It is always good to hear that I’m not the only one who struggles with these pitch things. They really do take a lot of effort an energy. I’m hopeful that the stories will bring some success.

  8. Paula Radell says :

    I haven’t pitched anything yet, because I don’t have a completed manuscript, but I’m not looking forward to it! The bravest thing I’ve done so far is to post a few chapters on Wattpad, to help me get comfortable with having total strangers read my work and give feedback. Thanks for sharing your story. I’m sure we can all relate to it.

    • fenster says :

      Posting any writing is always stressful. I remember finishing my first manuscript and thinking, well now comes the easy part, pitching it to agents. HA! It was harder to write a query than the novel. I still stink at it.

  9. Michelle Wallace (@mishy1727) says :

    Athena is gorgeous!
    At least you can start early and prepare for the IWSGPit in January.

    The thought of pitching to an agent terrifies me! Well, I don’t have anything ready anyway…not yet.

    • fenster says :

      Thank you! And I am starting early. I struggled this last time for many reasons, one of which was not having enough different ideas to last the day. I’ll remedy that for January.

      How close are you to having something ready to pitch?

  10. Nick Wilford says :

    Gorgeous girl. She’ll do well in the training. Sorry you didn’t get any bites at the Pitch Party, I took part in one before and I was the same. It really is tough, but having even more agents and publishers at the next IWSG party should up the odds in our favour. Good luck with your submissions!

Leave a Reply

