IWSGPit

Tomorrow is the Insecure Writer’s Support Group twitter pitch party! I’ve been gearing up for this day for the past three months, trying out various ways of pitching each of my three completed manuscripts, and somehow, I still don’t feel ready. When I look at what I’ve put on paper, each effort seems silly, and somehow not quite catching what I think the novels are really about.

I’ve always struggled with describing the first novel. I have three different query letters for it, each highlighting a different part of the story, and I am equally unimpressed with all three. Now, I’m trying to pitch the same novel in less than 100 characters. Thank goodness I have a clever wife who has a gift for simplification. She was able to send me two really decent ideas, both of which I will be using tomorrow.

As for the other two manuscripts, I feel a bit better about what I’ve put together for them, but I still wouldn’t say I’ve got it all figured out. And that’s okay, really.

I am going into this event with my eyes wide open. It is likely I won’t get any interest from publishers or agents. If  I do get a nibble, the manuscript or query letter might not satisfy. But this is all part of the process, part of putting myself out there and taking risks. Sitting back, doing nothing hasn’t been all that successful a strategy, so perhaps it is time to try a new, bolder approach.

Wish me luck.

Any of you planning on participating? How have your pitches come together and are you feeling confident?

And just because, here is a picture of my sleeping Athena. Athena

Tags: , , , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

5 responses to “IWSGPit”

  1. Liesbet says :

    Three completed manuscripts!! I had to stop right there and sit in awe for a moment. 🙂 Good luck at the Twitter pitch party tomorrow – I’m keeping my fingers crossed…

    Looks like Athena likes to hang out with CDs as well. Great match! Hope that match repeats itself with an agent for one – or more – of your works come tomorrow!!!

  2. artistpath says :

    Best of luck!!

  3. kristinaboucher says :

    Good luck! I agree with Liesbet – celebrate the fact that you have 3 completed manuscripts! Happy writing!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. IWSG-August | Residuals - August 2, 2017

Leave a Reply

