Some Changes

I’ve been playing about with this blog for almost 6 years. Originally, I planned to use this space as a showcase for writing ideas, flash fiction, poetry, other ramblings, and as a way to share those things with friends and family. I hoped that making myself accountable to something (committing to posting two or three times a week, sharing, sharing, sharing) that my writing voice would improve, and my work would become more accessible. I’ve had some successes and I am grateful for those who have stayed with me from the beginning.

Over the past year or so, I’ve tried to narrow the focus this blog, posting almost exclusively about writing and the things that inspire my creativity. I’ve stopped sharing bits of poetry and fiction (and in some cases, deleted old entries), not because I don’t want them out there, but because I felt that those posts were difficult for many to leave meaningful comments. What can you say beyond, “I like this” or “good job”? I’ll pretend no one ever wanted to type, “well that sucked.

Since implementing that change, I’ve seen an increase in readership and met some clever new friends.

I’ve tried building a reading base through social media as well.

From the beginning  I’ve shared the blog posts on my personal Facebook page, and that has been a very good thing. However, it has meant many great comments and ideas that could spark further conversation on the blog have been only seen by Facebook friends.

Twitter has been a different and strange friend, connecting me to some great people, but overall, so hit and miss that I’m not sure it has been as helpful as I’d like, at least the way I’ve been using it.

In order to change that, I’ve created a twitter account I will use exclusively to follow other writers and to eventually market my own work. If you are interested in that sort of thing (and who wouldn’t be interested in what I’m working on and thinking about, really), follow me HERE

IMG_8994

I’m hoping this new account will bring me some new readers and also offer me the chance to connect with  writers from all over the world. In the two days I’ve been using the account, I’m already having a great time. There are so, so many writers out there and most of them (wink wink) are creating amazing content. I’m excited to finally be participating in a more proactive and meaningful manner.

All of these tiny (but significant) changes are part of my grand plan (created in partnership with my wonderful spouse) to self publish and market a novella (I’ve been talking about recently), along with some accompanying short fiction (what stories and how many have yet to be finalized). I don’t have many concrete details, but once things start to take shape, I’ll certainly be posting about them on this blog and my other social media accounts (another swell reason to follow that new twitter account). For those of you who have self published, or published at all, expect lots of questions.

I’m nervous and excited at all of this, and hope I can have your support going forward.

People over things, always…

 

Tags: , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

7 responses to “Some Changes”

  1. Ellen says :

    I occasionally toy with the idea of setting up a Twitter account, mostly for the reasons you mention. I’ll be interested to see how you find using it. Maybe someday I’ll get around to becoming a Tweeter (is that even what they’re called?).

    • fenster says :

      A fine goal, to be sure. I actually like Twitter a great deal. I don’t always use it effectively, but it is a fun place. The 144 character limit focuses me. I need that sometimes.

  2. jmh says :

    You definitely have my support!

    Twitter is hit and miss. I find it’s great for building relationships and keeping in touch with people, but if they don’t have you on a list, your Tweets are bound to get missed.

    Since you’re not published yet, this is a fantastic time to build meaningful relationships with other writers, so they’ll want to help you once the book comes out.

  3. Liesbet says :

    Congrats with the new Twitter account, a “beast” I have yet to tame. I feel like I am spending too much time already on blogs and Facebook stuff, time I’d rather spend writing. But, one day, when I make some progress with said writing, I’d like to look into Twitter and other social media outlets (and I will definitely follow your new account). I realize participating often in them will come in handy in the long run, but time is so precious and, like now, when we are constantly on the move, there does not seem to be time for anything but life… 🙂

    I am happy with how your blog has been progressing. I do like to read poems and flash fiction as well, but feel more connected to bloggers when they write about personal inspiration or experiences. And, those stories are, indeed, easier to comment on. I am happy for you with all your progress recently in writing, creativity, and goal terms. Good luck with the projects – you are inspiring me!

    • fenster says :

      Yay! Glad I can inspire. I’ve said it before, but you are always inspiring me, pushing me to want more, do better. It’s a great relationship. Twitter is a hard one, and it can really be confusing and fast. I’m not all that great at it, but I’m learning.

      • Liesbet says :

        Whenever you become an expert, you can tell me how it’s done. Yes, you can do all the hard work. This is a perfect relationship! 🙂

Leave a Reply

