After a Small Detour

I think I’m ready to get back to writing. The unintentional, but apparently needed break from writing has gone on long enough. I’ve tried to pinpoint the day when the hiatus began, when I last wrote something other than this blog, or a few lines here and there while editing drafts, but as this notion of not writing for a bit was not something I consciously determined, I’m coming up empty.

All my good habits are broken, which means I need to rebuild them. In the past, writing Daily Paragraphs has worked. I give myself a bit of structure- I am only allowed to write three paragraphs (if the writing wants more, I copy and paste into a fresh document, continue). I don’t allow myself to edit at all, or place any restriction on what I can write about. It worked really well in the past. I hope it works again.

I am also hopeful other writers have ideas, things they have used (or still use) to practice, create good habits. I am open to almost any suggestion. Got one for me? IMG_8881

And because we all like images, here is one from Monday night, after a fine and fabulous thunderstorm blew on through the Salt Lake Valley.

Tags: , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

5 responses to “After a Small Detour”

  1. Liesbet says :

    Hi Ryan! I don’t have any suggestions for you, except to, whenever the sun is present, go outdoors to a place you like, sit on a bench there and write some words/thoughts/themes in a notebook. It is what I would love to do right now 1) if the sun were out, 2) if it were actually more than 50 degrees out, and 3) If I could free up any more than ten minutes at a time!

    Like you, I am not writing anything (other than a blog, comments and my diary). The “forced” reason is that we are at the in-laws for three weeks, dealing with helping them downsize, meeting friends and family, and going on lots of yearly appointments, with some extras thrown in, like getting a driver’s license, researching campers, dealing with the business and such. This will be followed by more of the same for a month in Belgium. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let us know how the inspiration is coming next week!

    • fenster says :

      Wow, seems like your writing life will need to be on standby for some time. I like your idea, sitting outside, hand-writing. I will try it. I started the daily paragraph again this morning. I’ve missed it so.

  2. Ellen says :

    The daily paragraph idea sounds interesting. I wish I had some magic idea about how to get back into the daily writing habit. If I did, I probably would be doing it myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lovely picture. SLC is a beautiful area with all of the mountains.

    • fenster says :

      SLC has its charms for sure. I’ve lived her almost all my life, mostly because of the natural beauty, but the fantastic people have played their role. Daily paragraphs are back in the game. I wrote them today, then I read some of the older entries (I save them all, even the awful ones). I’m excited about what I am about to create, add to the pages.

  3. jmh says :

    There have been so many times I have felt like this. (Even now, marketing and admin stuff have really distracted me from putting words on the page.) And each time, I’ve looked for advice, read articles about it, asked other writers, etc. Even hired a fancy (and very expensive!) life coach.

    The sad truth is…there is no magic bullet. You put your butt in the chair and force yourself to stay there for a prescribed amount of time or words. Usually, the first few sessions after a hiatus are uncomfortable. But it gets easier and, before you know it, you’re in the habit of writing again.

    It’s kind of like getting in shape. The only answer is to do it, which isn’t helpful at all. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

