IWSG-May

The first Wednesday of every month is the official Insecure Writer’s Support Group blog hop. We gather together (figuratively, though maybe some of us actually do literally met up, maybe at a coffee shop or something, who knows) to talk about our successes, failures, struggles, and goals. So many great writers (published or otherwise) share advice, ideas, offer support. It really is the best writing group out there. Join us HERE.

InsecureWritersSupportGroupBadge-300x295

I have spent the last few months editing, rewriting small sections, reading over my (supposedly) completed novels. I know better than to think they will ever really be done, and each time I read through, I find several things that need fixing. With each reading, I wonder how I missed these mistakes the first fifty times through. New eyes see what old eyes miss. I am always grateful for new eyes.

A few weeks back, I asked for some help with the third book, wondering if it was too short to even be considered a novella, if I should add more, or cut something and make it feel more like a short story. The feedback I received was wonderful. Everyone seems to agree it doesn’t need new content and works well as a novella. I am so thankful for their efforts and willingness to take a look at my writing, I owe them each a favor.

As for any WIP, um…

Yeah, I need to do better. I’m not sure what the problem is, or if there is even a problem at all. Beyond the blog (which I’ve been quite faithful at posting to, thank you), I haven’t felt like writing much at all. I have ideas for stories, poems, even an inkling of how to push my failed NaNo projects forward, but when it comes to sitting at the computer and composing, I’m not feeling it. Since this doesn’t feel frustrating and it isn’t making me angry, I’m not sure I’d call it writers block. Then again, I don’t have any idea what to call this particular situation. An extended break, maybe?

I do know I’ve been reading like a crazy person, and have finished as many books in 2017 as I did in all of 2016. Finding a stronger passion for reading has been wonderful. It can only make my writing better.

Speaking of reading. A fantastic book is set for an August release date and I cannot recommend it enough. My Absolute Darling is the first novel by a fantastic new writer, Gabriel Tallent. This novel is among the most difficult, haunting, terrifying, rewarding and hopeful books I have ever read.

Read about it here

And read an excellent review here

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

21 responses to “IWSG-May”

  1. C.D. Gallant-King says :

    Sometimes taking a break is a big help, especially if you’ve been going over the same manuscripts over and over. You’ll get burnt out. Walk away for awhile, do something else. Reading is a good idea, but anything that will recharge your brain and kickstart your imagination is helpful. Movies, games, other arts projects – whatever tickles your fancy.

    Good luck!

    IWSG May

    • fenster says :

      Thanks! I agree with you completely. I would worry more about the lack of production if I felt like I couldn’t write, rather than knowing this is a choice.

  2. jmh says :

    You know that saying, “An object in motion stays in motion…”? I find it’s particularly true with writing.

    After a long break, if you want to write again, you have to force yourself the first few times. Put your butt in the chair and stay there. When you get in the habit again, you’ll start feeling like it. Not writing can quickly becoming a habit too.

    • fenster says :

      Ugh, that is so spot on. I do have some routines, writing exercises that I’ve done in the past, and I plan to fall back on those to get started again.

  3. Liesbet says :

    I recognize that feeling of “inactivity” and feeling happy to “just” write the blog. Congrats on keeping up with the Wednesday postings, by the way. I think reading a lot is the right thing to do, until you feel inspired and encouraged again to write. Reading is such a nice “alternative” to focusing on writing the whole time. It is enjoyable and, supposedly, will only help your writing. No worries yet, I’d say. Unless, you get used to not writing and after weeks, you are still finding excuses not to. 🙂

    • fenster says :

      Yep. I don’t like excuses when it comes to writing. My hope is that the reading inspires me (which it has on some level) to get back at it. Again, if I wasn’t having ideas and stories rolling about in my head, I’d be more worried.

  4. Chrys Fey says :

    I haven’t been feeling it either. For me, it’s from overworking myself last year and for depression that caused writer’s block. I need to get writing, though. Hopefully we both will. 🙂

  5. Crystal Collier says :

    We go through seasons, I believe. I have actually charted cycles where for a month or two, all I want to do is read, then the next cycle is writing, followed my music. I think it’s good to follow where your mind is leading, and to know when to tug the reins a different direction–just like in writing a book, eh?

  6. Michelle Wallace (@mishy1727) says :

    I’ve also been reading like a crazy person. The thing is, reading is never a problem for me. I’m always reading…plus I read fast.
    I wish I could say the same about writing. Ha! I’m a snail!! 🙂

    Good luck with the novella. Are you going to publish it?
    Writer In Transit
    May IWSG Co-Host.

  7. csheldonblog says :

    I don’t think there is any harm in having a “break” as long as you try and get back on the “horse”. my creatvie writing tutor talks about lots of tips to get your writing started again, which at the time I am always thinking er… But when it comes to do them there “fun” and who knows what ideas might stem from them. X

  8. Ellen says :

    It’s interesting to read the different perspectives in the comments on the current “break” you’re having from writing. I’ve been there myself – happy to blog away, but can’t seem to get forward momentum on my other WIPs.

    • fenster says :

      Seems you worked your way out of it. I think I will too. Becoming aware that there was actually a break taking place might mean I’m close to getting back at it.

  9. Diane Burton says :

    Last year, I had a hard time finishing anything. I’d flit from story to story, not finishing. I found it frustrating but not frustrating enough to stop. Then I had a talk with myself and decided which story was the closest to being finished, chose that one and completed it. Then I went on to the next one. I finished that one in March. How? Butt in chair, hands on keyboard. As jmh (above) mentioned, not writing can become a habit. Even if you write a little each day, you’ll get back in the habit of writing again. Good luck!

  10. Alex J. Cavanaugh (@AlexJCavanaugh) says :

    Take a break or go do something that inspires you. I go through droughts like that where I don’t feel like writing anything beyond blog posts and comments.

Leave a Reply

