The Third is…

I wrote my first novel in 2013. The first draft was just over 79,000 words. Edits, rewrites and subtractions have left the book hovering around 77,000 words. My second book (2014) came it at just over 120,000. After Edits, rewrites, subtractions it is still at 120,000.

For the third book, I made a conscious choice to keep myself to 50 thousand. I liked the idea of clear writing goals and a word restriction. The second book had a life of its own and refused to be limited. It still does, and while I enjoy the feeling of having written something so long, I wanted to see if I could limit myself, focus the content, make hard choices.

The first completed draft was 43,000 words. Three versions later, I now have a story of 37,501 words. I fear it is becoming too short, but each time I edit, I find more to cut, and have come up empty on ideas of where to expand. Maybe it doesn’t need anything more, and maybe it needs less. Is this really a short story; a novella? I don’t know. I am looking for some brave souls to volunteer as tribute, fearless warriors, willing to offer suggestions, direction. Two would be great, more would be better. There is no rush on feedback as I am not actively trying to sell this to any agent or publisher.

Any takers?

Reply here (or on Facebook or Twitter, for those who don’t like commenting here. Weirdos) and I will send you a lovely .rtf document.

Tags: , , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

10 responses to “The Third is…”

  1. Raillynn says :

    Oh, Fenster, you know I’m always down to read something different. If you’d like to give me a try, I’d be happy to read it and give you any input I might have. Yes, to answer your question, a short novel is a novella. Stephen King is quite famous for them. I also think a lot of Hemingway’s short stories are more like novellas, than short stories.

    • fenster says :

      Gosh, your swell. I will send you a document. And I knew it was called a novella, I was just asking if maybe this *novel* would be better off as short story length or novella length.

      • Raillynn says :

        Awesome, thanks! I look forward to reading it. Ah, I gotcha, I just read through that part too fast. 😉

  2. Liesbet says :

    You are cranking them out! 🙂 You are doing well with your writing and blogging goals. I need to learn from that! I gladly have a look at your manuscript, especially, since the deadline is loose (aka inexistent right now). I still have to look at your other story, but am crazy busy right now, having to entertain guests 24/7 for ten days… But, I have not forgotten! 🙂

  3. zekethefreak3 says :

    I’m up for the challenge.

    • fenster says :

      Alright! Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I can send you a PDF or a text document. Email me at Fenster020-at-gmail-dot-com and I will send the book your way.

      Also, it is really good to *see* you.

  4. jmh says :

    It sounds a bit on the long side to be a novella, but it often depends on the genre. Providing editorial feedback for friends gives me hives, but if you need someone else, I can’t say no. I owe you several. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Some Changes | Residuals - May 31, 2017

Leave a Reply

