On the Mend

I’m getting over a particularly nasty cold. Last Wednesday, I felt the first scratch in my throat and instantly loaded up on all the vitamins, juice, etc I could handle. Weak and tired, I managed to plug through until Sunday morning, when it seemed the worst was over and I might be feeling more like myself by the end of the day.

Um, no.

I started sneezing around noon. In rhythm, it seemed like every 14 minutes the sneezes came. Heavy, powerful, back wrenching sneezes. At one juncture, I let loose 8 in a row, followed by a set of six. The runny nose accompanied the sneezing, followed by watery eyes, a massive headache, pain in my back.

Sleep was almost impossible, as the sneezing continued into the night and next morning. Finally, Monday evening I was able to settle down and get some rest. Tuesday, the headache and dizziness returned. Luckily, this morning is much better, and I think I may finally be on the mend.

Things I am tired of-

Ibuprofen

Cold medicines

Airborne tablets

Sore nostrils

Sore eyes

Tissues

That flat, metallic taste in the back of my throat

Things I am grateful for-

A wonderful spouse who takes care of me

Warm blankets and a warm place to sleep

sleep itself

Old war movies

Hot beverages

Good books to read

 

Happy Wednesday.

 

 

Tags:

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

7 responses to “On the Mend”

  1. Crystal Collier says :

    You have my sympathy. I deal with chronic sinusitis, so most of those symptoms are my every day companions, but there are definitely times when it hits harder and becomes so miserable all you can do is lay in bed and wish your head wasn’t so explody. Sending healing cheese your way!

  2. Liesbet says :

    Get healed soon!!! We have been quite fortunate not to have gotten sick this winter, even though it came close after hanging out with sick children and a coughing home owner. So far, so good. I’m glad you are feeling better! A warm home sure helps. Things I am “sick” of: a house without a heater!

    • fenster says :

      No heater? Well that’s no good. Seems like one of those things modern houses just have, you know.

      • Liesbet says :

        You’d think! I guess now we have to add that to our list of questions when applying for a house sit… There is a tiny space heater, which we keep moving from room to room. Since I have more “insulation” than Mark, he gets to use it in his office during the day. 🙂

  3. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    I love how you balance out your list of things you’re tired of with a list of things you’re grateful for. Feel better soon. I had a nasty cold a month or so ago – they’re the worst.

    • fenster says :

      I try and remember there are always things to be grateful for, even if they can seem small or insignificant. Also, posting about my cold seems silly. I’ll do better next week (maybe).

Leave a Reply

