Goals are for Suckers

What a grand Christmas season. I was able to spend time with family and friends, share a drink and conversation, eat good food and have some fun. Our annual Christmas Eve family party was well attended and everyone seemed to have a grand time. I enjoy this tradition a great deal. Many of the people I care most about assembling all in one place (my house) makes for an wonderful evening.

As soon as our party ended, almost to the moment, the snow began to fall. By morning, several inches covered the ground.

img_8155

Many people enjoy a White Christmas. For me, it is a mixed bag. I love the beauty of freshly fallen snow, and the silence that accompanies it is ideal for contemplation.

If only we had no where to go, no place to be, but driving is unavoidable for us on Christmas Day. The roads were treacherous and icy, and the temperature remained below freezing. Other on the streets, caught up in the euphoria of the season were not always attentive. Several times, we were almost run off the road by careless drivers.

We were lucky, avoided accidents, and arrived at our destinations unharmed. Gifts were exchanged. Love was shared. The end.

As for the coming year, my sincere hope is that it is somehow much better than 2016 (it has to be, right?). I’m going to do my part by actually setting goals for myself.I am not a pessimistic person, but New Year’s resolutions rub me wrong. They seem trite and coerced more than anything. Still, I need to find more focus this year, discover ways to progress and grow.

Most of my goals will remain private, but I feel like sharing one.

READ MORE!

I am sad to admit that I barely finished 15 books this past year. That is horrible. I must double that amount. I even have this lovely stack waiting for me.

img_8172

What about you? How was the holiday?  Goals?

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

4 responses to “Goals are for Suckers”

  1. Liesbet says :

    No holiday here. Other than the few mandatory days, it is business as usual. 🙂 I like to set goals and traditionally, the New Year is a good time to start. Sticking to those goals is another matter altogether. I assume reading is important, especially when you write, but I see reading as relaxation, despite the fact that I try to read books that benefit me, like other memoirs or books with exercises to write better. I always seem to have more important things to do than read. I think I read three books this year. Not much, I know. I am reading a novel right now, just to get rid of my pile of belongings and I feel guilty that it is a fiction book. I am still learning from it, though, and finding typos. 🙂 Happy reading in 2017, Ryan!!

  2. vizi01 says :

    Reaaading is the fulcrum!

  3. jmh says :

    Happy New Year and happy holidays! I set a pretty big reading challenge for myself on Goodreads each year. It’s one of the most enjoyable annual goals I have.

    All the best in 2017!

Leave a Reply

