December IWSG Madness

Hey team!

It is the first Wednesday of the month, which means it is time once again for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group to gather together, share our writing successes, failures, insecurities, and goals. If you aren’t already a member and you call yourself a writer, you really need to do better. Check us out here if you know what’s good for you-

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html

InsecureWritersSupportGroupBadge-300x295

Special thanks to Ninja Captain Alex J Cavanaugh for his fearless leadership. Also, my good blogging buddy J.H. Moncrieff is among the co-hosts this month. She’s way groovy.

I am actually writing this on Tuesday afternoon. As you are reading this (the Wednesday folk at least), I am somewhere wandering the streets of Manhattan. Lucky me, right? This means I won’t be commenting on other blogs or replying to this one until next week. That makes me a bit sad as I really do enjoy the Wednesday interaction. Hopefully, you will all be as willing to talk to me when I get back.

For the third month in a row, I am answering the suggestion question.

In terms of your writing career, where do you see yourself five years from now, and what’s your plan to get there?

My five year plan from five years ago didn’t quite pan out, which makes me a bit hesitant, anxious even, about the next five. My three novels languish on my hard drive. The fourth refused to let me write it. Something about ideas falling apart after 5,000 words or something. It is my first NaNo failure and while I’m not completely discouraged (I’m still working, writing), it is an unexpected and frustrating setback.

That said, I feel like my writing future has potential.

I am still waiting to hear from Black Lawrence Press regarding their chapbook competition and am very hopeful about my chances. I feel I submitted a very good bit of poetry and hope to use any success from that as a springboard.

Short stories are brewing in my head and some older ideas (that were flash pieces or two page efforts) are telling me they’d like to be longer. When that happens (soon, early 2017), these tales will find contests and submission locations to test their legs.

The query efforts will begin again in earnest this Spring, with maybe a resubmit to an agent who gave me a little nibble two years ago. All of this seems like a plan, right?

So, five years from now, I hope the above plan has me writing, submitting, publishing something, still hopeful, determined and happy.

Tags: , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

10 responses to “December IWSG Madness”

  1. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    My favorite part of your plan is that you want to be “hopeful, determined and happy.” That’s the key for me – if it isn’t fun or enriching, it’s probably the wrong plan. Enjoy your time in Manhattan. I’ll talk to you when you get back 🙂

  2. Liesbet says :

    Great plan and great goal! You are a determined writer and I am sure you will keep putting effort in your craft and writing future. When I saw your post right now, I said to myself “No way, he wrote this today already, before 7am!” But, it still counts as Wednesday blogging. 🙂 You are on a roll, my friend. Enjoy being in your favorite city!

    • fenster says :

      Ha! Yeah, last year I blogged from my phone while in NYC for one IWSG post. It was not fun and I figured writing on Tuesday was a better plan. I’m all about plans lately.

  3. Stephanie Faris says :

    Sometimes our plans don’t work out…but we end up going in a new direction and still doing great things. Sounds like that’s what happened to you!

  4. Jennifer Williams-Fields says :

    I hope the above plan has me writing, submitting, publishing something, still hopeful, determined and happy. –> that sounds like a beautiful 5 year plan!

  5. Diane Burton says :

    Your determination will help you go far. Best wishes on your plans. If you are further along on your story than you were on Nov 1st, you’re a winner!

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you and your family.
    December co-host

Leave a Reply

