IWSG-November

Welcome to the November installment of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group monthly blog hop. Once again we gather to discuss our writing successes and failures, our moments of joy and our deep dark fears. What a roller coaster ride of conflicting emotions!

If you want to find out more about us, or how to join, click this lovely link

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html

InsecureWritersSupportGroupBadge-300x295

For the second month in a row, I’m choosing to answer the suggested question. I’m starting to see a trend. I go to the dentist (cavities this time, what a world), then the next day, I’m all about rule following. My guess is there is something in the fluoride.

November question- What is your favorite aspect of being a writer?

Some things come to mind: Being able to create people, events, worlds which did not exist before I put them on the page (what a powerful feeling). Finding ways to make sense of the emotions, events, people that make up my daily life (It is so damn cathartic). Sharing stories or swell blog posts with like minded people (people with minds like mine? Shudder)

All those things are wonderful, but the thing I love best about being a writer is the intimate connection I have with words and language.

I feel fortunate to think, write, read, understand the word through the English language, which is among the most vast languages in the world (containing over 1 million words). Of course there are things one cannot express very well in any language which are unique to cultures and regions, but a visit to any English thesaurus will show the flexibility and diversity of my native tongue.

Having a multitude of ways to express concepts is a priceless treasure for a writer (a thinker, a human being in general). The more words at my disposal, the more complex and diverse ways I can understand a concept, theory, etc. Language liberates my mind, gives structure to my thoughts, creates order out of chaos, and most importantly, allows me to communicate with all of you.

I’m rambling, but you get the idea.

Next month, I should write about the ambiguity of language, the arbitrary nature of meaning  and debunk this entire blog.

What about you clowns? What is your favorite aspect of being a writer? Another option- write my language counter argument for me by defining the word meaning. 

Layers and layers of analogy, people.

An aside- My October experiment was not successful. The story I chose fell apart after about ten thousand words. I’m letting it sit for a while, and am moving on to a different project. I may or may not do NaNo. This afternoon’s effort will decide my fate.

Down the rabbit hole we go…

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

25 responses to “IWSG-November”

  1. Stephanie Faris says :

    We are very lucky that we get to create these worlds. But that can be HARD sometimes, right?! People don’t realize how difficult it is to come up with these stories and make them interesting.

  2. Tyrean (@TyreanMartinson) says :

    I’m thankful we have the wilderness of English vocabulary to use for creating new and wondrous stories, too.

  3. Meka James says :

    I need to open myself up to more of those words that are so available. Too often I’m a straight line kind of person and will use the most direct word to get across what I want. Learning to expand my horizon on that would be very beneficial.

    • fenster says :

      Some writers think using a thesaurus is dishonest. I find it the best way to learn new words, new ways of shaping sentences. Still, there is nothing wrong with a straightforward approach. Clarity over dancing about can sometimes be the better option. Good luck with the horizon expansion.

  4. Liesbet says :

    I love language as well. And, expressing myself with written words.To make things more interesting, Ryan, I suggest you learn a new language! 🙂 Or, maybe you know one already. Some of the concepts you are talking about can make life more frustrating, like the way to express yourself in one language just doesn’t cut it in the same way the other language does… I had all the feelings you mention with Dutch. After years of immersion in English, I don’t anymore and I find that sad. At the same time, we have these amazing meaningful expressions in Dutch that I just cannot reproduce in English. And, the kicker of my language “battle” is that I do not command either one to my liking. (To give you an example, I actually had to look up the English verb in this last sentence to “match” the Dutch verb I had in my head to express myself… Command came close enough.) Rambling… I am good at that as well! 🙂

    • fenster says :

      I know some German, and I agree, there are concepts that do not translate well. I still think English a very flexible language with a seemingly never ending number of words. I know it steals and borrows from so many other languages, but that is another of its beauties. It frustrates me all the time, and I will never get why read is the past tense of read and is totally different from red, but somehow it all makes sense in my head. Ramble on my friend.

  5. emaginette says :

    I really like throwing my emotional baggage on my characters. It’s quite a show. hehehe

    Anna from elements of emaginette

  6. Michelle Wallace says :

    Ah, the beauty and strangeness of our beloved English language…so here’s somethings to ponder…

    There is no egg in the eggplant,
    No ham in the hamburger,
    And neither pine nor apple in the pineapple.
    English muffins were not invented in England.
    French fries were not invented in France.
    Quicksand takes you down slowly,
    Boxing rings are square,
    And a guinea pig is neither from Guinea nor is it a pig.
    Why do people recite at a play,
    Yet play at a recital?
    Park on driveways and
    Drive on parkways?
    When the stars are out they are visible,
    But when the lights are out they are invisible.

    Happy IWSG Day! 🙂

  7. Crystal Collier says :

    I’m right there with you. I LOVE the English language and how diverse it is. Being able to say the same thing a hundred different ways to get the exact right meaning… It’s amazing. And let’s not forget about the etymology. I find it fascinating where all those words came from.

  8. Diane Burton says :

    All I care about language is being able to convey what I want to say. As we get older, those words don’t always come when you want them. That’s why I like writing better than speaking. LOL

  9. Kelsie Engen says :

    I’ll jump in and agree–I love language and it’s partly why I write. Some authors value story over writing quality, but I need both for it to be truly magical for me! I’ll spend a lifetime learning more about language and translating it into writing good stories and never learn enough. ☺️

    • fenster says :

      I am right with you on the writing/story stuff. Some people are great storytellers, but their writing is pedestrian at best. If I was told I had to choose a compelling story or powerful writing, I’d take the latter.

  10. Shannon Lawrence says :

    English can be complicated to learn, but it’s definitely a full language!

  11. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    I really like your take on this month’s question. I’m fascinated by language as well. I’d love to see you “debunk” this blog post in another blog post on the arbitrariness of language and meaning. That would be fascinating!

    • fenster says :

      It would be pretty fun to write. Using all the silly postmodern arguments about the fragmentation of meaning and the absence of absolute centers. It’s a miracle we even communicate at all.

  12. ahtdoucette says :

    Hi from the rabbit hole! I didn’t know the English language has over a million words. That is fascinating. I agree on loving this crazy bastard tongue (I think there was a book on that somewhere sometime.) English is great for wrestling with and laughing at. Now you’ve given me something to smile about, which I really needed too! Good luck with your writing endeavors, whatever path you choose.

Leave a Reply

