Vacation

I mentioned our recent trip to Yellowstone in the last post. It was a grand and exciting time for all involved. As usual, we ran into people we knew from SLC who were also visiting, and had fun interactions with people we will never ever see again. It is the wonder of the place.My favorite thing is introducing people to the majesty of Grand Geyser. This year, I was able convince a couple visiting from Sweden to hang out and watch. Sometimes, the wait is hours, but it is always worth it.

dsc_0144

The Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone was as fabulous as I remembered.

dsc_0201

and the waterfalls as beautiful.

dsc_0190

dsc_0215

 

For the first time in over 30 years, I ventured to the north part of the park. Mammoth Hot Springs is still a strange place. I was blown away by the steep mountains and amazing meadows. The north part of the park is indeed stunning. Too bad every place was extremely crowded. Lesson learned- do not travel on Labor Day weekend.

I am most grateful for my children and their willingness to accompany Sheryl and me almost anywhere. They both seemed to have a grand time and both took a great many photos. Speaking of which, here are some more of mine.

dsc_0107

Thermal features have always intrigued me.

dsc_0119

Grand Geyser.

dsc_0140

Runoff from Excelsior Geyser/hot spring

dsc_0163

Grand Prismatic. I love the colors.

dsc_0178

The brink of lower falls.

dsc_0197dsc_0198

Big horn in the north part of the park.

img_7510

Lads walk.

dsc_0206

 

Tags: , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

4 responses to “Vacation”

  1. Liesbet says :

    Wow, Ryan. Truly an amazing place. Your photos do Yellowstone justice, but I am sure that it is hard to capture the magic and impressiveness of the park! I am in awe!

  2. jmh says :

    It is really beautiful. My bf actually sampled some of the water from the hot springs when he was there.

    He’s always trying to get that Darwin Award.

    I’m glad you had a great time!

    • fenster says :

      Thanks! It was a great time. Have you read the book, Death in Yellowstone? These don’t happen under mysterious circumstances, but it is a crazy read. People do the most foolish things.

Leave a Reply

