This World

Yesterday was a hard one. Hearing that 50  people were gunned down (and at least that many wounded) at a dance club in Orlando, Florida was difficult to process. Each time this happens (and it happens a great deal in my country), I am confronted with a moment of shame. I get angry, mourn for the families, forgetting that this sort of thing happens with too much frequency in far too many places on this planet, and more often than not, I hardly pause.

It is understandable to be more affected by events occurring closer to home, and while I didn’t personally know any of the victims, we share a country, which sometimes feels very important.

It is easy to feel overwhelmed, disillusioned and depressed, and I admit, for most yesterday, I wallowed only in dark places.

But I do not want to fall into the trap of perpetual pessimism and negativity. Instead, I will focus on the good in my life- I have wonderful family and friends. I am healthy and live in relative safety. I am a fortunate person, blessed beyond measure. I have plenty of food to eat, clothes to wear, and for the most part, horrible things aren’t happening to those I care most about.

There are beautiful places in the world, and I happen to live in one of them-

IMG_5349city

It is necessary to be sad, to be angry and outraged. These atrocities should not be tolerated or ignored, but I refuse to let them consume me or change who I am. I’m choosing love, again. Sometimes, it is the harder choice, but it is always the better one.

Tags: , , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

6 responses to “This World”

  1. Liesbet says :

    Sometimes it feels like positivism and belief in a better world are the only “weapons” worth carrying and using. If only all the real ones could be replaced by them.

    • fenster says :

      Agreed. I hold to the hope that change is possible, if only in tiny increments, by kindness and love in our own tiny sphere of influence.

  2. jmh says :

    Well said, my friend. I’m glad there are people like you in the world, who care so much for others.

    • fenster says :

      It isn’t easy, and I fail at it all the time. When that happens, I try again. Thanks, for the kind words. I hope you are doing better.

  3. Angelica Kidd says :

    I love this post. What a wonderful ray of sunshine in a dark time!

Leave a Reply

