June

It is the first Wednesday of the month, which means it is again time for the monthly gathering/blog-hop of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. Click the link and check us out, then sign up. We are a swell group.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

Unfortunately, I missed last month as I was travelling to Flagstaff to watch Boris play. Also, I was pretty burned out after the A to Z blogging challenge in April. A smarter person would have prepared a blog before leaving on vacation, but I have never claimed to be smarter or smart at all.

On the writing front, the last few weeks have been very exciting. I have been composing a collection of poems for a chapbook contest that opens later this year. I have written about half of what I intend to submit, but they are still in the early stages, and need a good deal of work before they will be ready to see the light of day. I am excited at finally take the plunge and anxious to see what happens. Either way, it is time to get more aggressive in my attempts at publication.

I have also determined to enter one of my novels in a contest for unpublished work. The contests open in the winter, so I have time to clean up and properly edit one of the books. With three written, and two to choose between, I am a bit out of sorts. If anyone wants to offer their opinion, or suggestions, I am open to any and all ideas.

It is an exciting and frightening time for me. I will keep you posted on my efforts.

What’s got you frustrated, insecure, excited this month with your writing? Tell me your stories, please. 

Also, any poets interested in beta reading my stuff, let me know. 

Tags: , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

21 responses to “June”

  1. Angelica Kidd says :

    It’s so wonderful to hear that you’re working towards publication in your writing! I agree that the A to Z Challenge has left me a bit frazzled but I’ve also been trying to sit down and work on my writing, really work on it. I think it’s going well, the ideas have been flowing more steadily now and I do try to not really worry about where my stories are headed, I’m trying instead to just let the stories lead me. I’m currently working on extending a flash piece I did recently as my inspiration for JunoWrimo. I’m not really sure how I will create an entire story based on this one piece but am excited to see where it leads! I hope you continue to be productive with your writing!

  2. emaginette says :

    Good luck with the contest. I find most of them exciting. 🙂

    Anna from elements of emaginette

  3. artistpath says :

    I’ve just started writing poetry and have a lot to learn. I’m going to toss a few out to the blogosphere and see what happens. Good luck with the contest! I may check out the writers group 😊

    • fenster says :

      Do it! The Insecure Writer’s Support Group is full of fun people from published authors to those just getting started. It is a great place to get ideas, help, encouragement, etc. Keep pushing and working, learning.

  4. Stephanie Scott (@StephScottYA) says :

    Thanks for visiting my IWSG post! What type of contests are you looking to enter? And what type of novels do you write? I’m wondering if Pitch Wars might fit what you’re looking for, if you are readying to query or look for an agent. More details on that are at Brenda Drake’s blog under PItch Wars 🙂

    • fenster says :

      I’ll check that out. I write all sorts of stuff from literary fiction to sci fi. I just finished a novel/novella more along the thriller line. The contests I’m entering are small press publisher contests. The poetry contest looks fantastic and I’m hopeful. Novels are always tricky. Thanks for stopping by, and returning the comment.

  5. Diane Burton says :

    Best wishes on your project.

  6. Megan Morgan says :

    My advice is to keep doing what you’re doing, sounds like you’re working hard! Good luck on all your endeavors!

  7. jmh says :

    That’s awesome, Ryan! Sounds like you’re really making progress.

    Submitting our work is the key to success. I very much believe that.

  8. ahtdoucette says :

    Happy June! I agree a contest can be a great goal to work toward, especially one some time in the distant future. I’d love to read any poetry you want to send. anne.doucette@gmail.com. I used to be in a weekly poetry group when I lived in New Jersey and it was helpful to get insights and hear other people’s styles.

    • fenster says :

      I will send the poems I have written for this chapbook. What I am looking for is some honest criticism about structure, word choice, etc. I have a tendency to ramble off and if I’m being honest, overwriting ideas. I want this to be as tight as I can get it.

  9. Liesbet says :

    I’m so happy for you to still be so focused and determined! I have finally picked up my writing again on the non-fiction book I hope to complete “one day”. I finished chapter four, but, to my horror discovered that it has a word count of 10,000, while my “goal” was a 20 chapter book with 90,000 words total. Houston (or shall I say, Utah?), I have a problem! When I start writing, I can;t stop. 🙂

  10. Michelle Wallace says :

    Good luck on all the projects.
    You have enough to keep you busy for a while.
    Is there a deadline on the poetry? I enjoy mood/style/word choice in poetry.
    Mail – mish(at)writer-in-transit(dot)co(dot)za

Leave a Reply

