Yearn

We will keep it secret and safe.

“Since I was a girl, it has been my favorite color.”

I nod, keep digging the earth with the jagged end of a stick, carving out my middle name, forwards, backwards, upside down, inside out. She makes a list.

“Tulips, dandelions, bananas, lemonade, the yolk of a chicken egg, perfectly cooked french fries, the bow tie my grandfather wore on my 10th birthday.”

I recall her party dress, lemon cake with lemon frosting, Lemonheads in a white bowl. Fifteen children sat on the carpet in broken circles, laughter between them and the crumbs on their shirts and skirts; the smell of warm confectioners sugar and food coloring.

She rolls over, presses her back to the ground, stares into the sky.

“The stars. I almost forgot the stars and sun.”

The clouds at sunset. The sound after a kiss. The breaking of my heart. 

I stop digging. In my head, I sketch her outline, just like this, just like now.

y.jpg

“How we need another soul to cling to, another body to keep us warm. To rest and trust; to give your soul in confidence: I need this, I need someone to pour myself into.”
– Sylvia Plath

Only one more day of the A to Z blogging challenge remains. It has been fun and difficult. I have to admit, I almost threw in the towel around R. How about the rest of you? 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

7 responses to “Yearn”

  1. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    Fortunately, I had prewritten all of my posts (except Z, which I still need to do). If I hadn’t I probably would have wanted to throw the towel in around J.

    I like the imagery of party dresses. I remember wearing party dresses when I was a little girl. They seemed so special with the sashes and pretty fabric. I would have loved a lemon colored one.

    Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us with Z.

    Cheers – Ellen

  2. Jessica Triana says :

    I had Yearn for Y as well. We’ve had a couple of letters in common in this challenge haven’t we. 🙂 It’s nearly over now, how’s it been for you?

    • fenster says :

      It has been up and down. Some days, I couldn’t wait to get writing. Others it was a challenge to even sit at the laptop for ten minutes. Lucky for me, there was good coffee and music. Those two things can get me through a great many things. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Liesbet says :

    By now, I yearn for the A-Z challenge to be over. That being said, I never had the feeling of throwing in the towel, I just wished I didn’t have anything else than blogging to do. Just wrote my last post. So happy I managed to do these one day ahead. Maybe I will have learned and plan ahead a bit better next year. If I have the desire and time to join again! Looking forward to your Z!

    Liesbet @ Roaming About – A Life Less Ordinary

  4. Yolanda Renee says :

    I was pretty well prepared, and yet still not. I don’t know if I’ll be back next year, but I think I said that last year too. A few months out and I’ll probably be planning for the next one. LOL I’ll miss April, but not the challenge. 🙂

  5. Michelle Wallace says :

    Great flash fiction!
    Due to the nature of my theme, I had no option but to pre-write/schedule my posts.
    Writer In Transit

Leave a Reply

