Xenon

Club Xenon was located in the Sugarhouse neighborhood of Salt Lake City. It was one of the few places young people from different social classes, musical taste, race, religion could and would gather together. All the city kids hung out there. On weekends, us suburbanites would sometimes join in, driving from the south end of the valley, along the Interstate and into the big city.

x.jpg

In my memory, there were at least two dance floors- one for the top 40 hits of the day, and another for the alternative music lovers, like me and my group of friends. I can’t remember if the alternative dance floor was upstairs or down, front or back of the club, but I do remember the music, and the way kids danced to certain bands. It was the late 80’s, pre-Nirvana, the tail end of the hair bands, and hip-hop had not yet infiltrated the mainstream of white middle America. We all wore our hair long and straight. Mine was not quite as long as I wanted, and I felt some envy, watching who I thought were the cooler kids, bangs below their chins, heads down, dancing to music from bands like the Cult, Descendents, Celtic Frost, (early) Red Hot Chili Peppers, Dead Kennedys. I was into most of these bands, pretended to like the others.

While many of the details about Xenon (colors, smells, actual number of times I visited) have faded, I do remember how I felt when inside that club- a mix of excitement, fear, happiness. I was out with friends, 18 years old, feeling like I was grown up, ready to take on the world, all the while unaware of the multitude of life events that were almost upon me, lingering just outside my vision.

In the early 90’s, the club changed names and musical focus, going more Gothic, then Grunge (I hate that word), until finally, as part of the grand redevelopment plan for the area, the building was torn down in favor of a drug store.

My wife and I moved to an apartment just north of Sugarhouse in 1995, then bought our first house on the east end of the area in 2001. Living there was wonderful. It was the offbeat part of Salt Lake, a place that didn’t fit the conservative stereotype. It was different, unexpected.

Things change, and often what makes something interesting or strange draws in a crowd intent on improving it. More families moved into the area. The surrounding neighborhoods became more gentrified. The quirkiness of Sugarhouse began to be discussed using phrases like blight on the city,  or a hot bed of criminal activity.

The people behind those phrases had money, and money always wins.

The area has undergone more than its share of upscale makeovers. The head-shops, piercing studios, record stores, dance clubs, and sexy boutiques have moved away or been torn down, replaced by expensive condominiums, high end restaurants and shopping. Few if any of the original buildings remain, and in many ways the area seems more bland than vibrant.

If you look though, you can still find a few amazing places-

A great coffee shop.

IMG_0500.JPG

a few tasty pubs.

IMG_0501.JPG

and one of the best libraries ever.

IMG_0496.JPG

I’ve moved back to the suburbs and it was a good decision. My kids are happier, have amazing friends and opportunities, but if I am honest, I desperately miss living in Sugarhouse, even with all the changes, it still fees like home.

I go back often, it isn’t that far away.

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

6 responses to “Xenon”

  1. Liesbet says :

    Good thing you still live close to Sugarhouse and can go for a visit. I have always wondered whether I would prefer to live in the center of a town (easy access to everything and being able to walk everywhere) or in the quieter, roomier suburbs… I have no idea so far…

    Liesbet @ Roaming About – A Life Less Ordinary

    • fenster says :

      Having done both, if it is just you and your spouse, nothing beats the urban environment. Especially if the area is full of local flavor, shops and food. With a family, things get more complicated. Kids raised in cities think differently than suburban or rural kids (not better, just different).

      I’m the sort who can live happily in the city, the suburbs or even off in the woods. They all appeal to different aspects of my personality. Right now, the suburbs are where my kids are thriving. Three years from now, who knows where I will be.

  2. Liesbet says :

    Oh, I know where you will be! It involves water, I think… 🙂 A good thing about this house sitting lifestyle we are living is that we can try it all!

  3. Yolanda Renee says :

    We live in the suburbs too, but for retirement we will move back to the city for the convenience! A small city, but lively none the less.

  4. drII says :

    good to read your memories of Xenon. like you, I went there a few times in the late 1980s, probably 1988 or 1989. i was working at the Mulboon’s at Trolley at the time and went over there with friends. the music was definitely mostly “alternative” as understood at that time–Depeche Mode, Cure–stuff like that. it seems like it was close to the Smith’s over there on 13th South or 17th South area or wherever that is. definitely fond memories. also remember going to Club Vortex down in Exchange place close to same time.

    • fenster says :

      Oh yeah! The Vortex. I’d almost forgotten than place existed. As for the location of Xenon, I may have that wrong. I was a suburban kid and by the time I moved to the city everything seemed different. I recall it being closer to 21st, but I am likely wrong.

      Another place I spent a lot of time was DV8, but that was more mid 90’s. Great memories. Thanks for stopping by and for the comment. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

