Fracture

The text message read, “I pick up Hannah at 3. Until then, I will be having coffee at the shop across from her school.?”

He looked at his watch. 2:30. It would take five minutes to get there. He had to leave for work no later than 3:00. She knew that. He shook his head.

The car hummed along city streets, the smell of slow cooked beans wafting from the back seat. Janet had planned a pot luck for staff meeting, and his beans were always a favorite. Simple really, slow cook them, super slow with lots of ketchup.

Ketchup made things taste better.

She was sitting outside with the autumn leaves (strewn across a wooden table that was bolted to the ground). When his car pulled in, she stood up; a half wave. She’d worn his favorite jeans, the right leg too tight against her calf. Steam rising from two cups of coffee blew to the east; a storm coming. He took a deep breath, opened the car door and walked towards her. The diamond she still wore winked back at him, conspicuous and violently cruel.

f

It’s Thursday. I’m a bit melancholy, and I’m listening to Wilco. I should make better choices. What are you doing? 

Oh yeah, tell me what you think of this tiny tale, please. 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

10 responses to “Fracture”

  1. jmh says :

    Honestly, I love it Ryan. There’s some great imagery here. I’m assuming an adulterous affair?

    Nice work. I just finished my shift as a news director and now I’m commenting on 5,000 blogs. 😀

  2. zannierose a-z says :

    wondering what happens next- will their love (?) been blown away by the east wind?

    zannie

    A-Z visit

    http://allfeathersfurandfins.blogspot.co.uk/

  3. Damyanti Biswas says :

    Tiny tale is tremendous!

  4. Michelle Wallace says :

    I love micro fiction.
    Such a lot packed into those few words. 🙂

  5. Zeannaroux says :

    Oooo this is amazing ^-^

  6. Liesbet says :

    Great little story, Ryan. But, I want more of it. And, I don’t like ketchup. Maybe it tastes good in slow cooked beans. I’ll have to try it. I am open to new flavors and experiences! 🙂

    Liesbet @ Roaming About – A Life Less Ordinary

    • fenster says :

      Thanks. I find the best flash fictions leave us wanting. And I like ketchup on some things. The dude in this story is just weird or something.

Leave a Reply

