A Not So Welcome Trend

A new month and a new year offer all sorts of good opportunities for change and growth. I’m grateful to start things off with another, first Wednesday of the month, meeting with the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. Time again to get together (figuratively) and share our successes and failures, hopes and fears, our goals and plans. If you are interested in joining us, check out the link

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

Looking back at Residuals (this blog) for the last year, I see a disheartening trend. I am writing and posting less and less here. Sure, I’m doing different sorts of writing, and that takes more of my time and energy, but the lack of entries doesn’t sit well with me. Fiction writing gives me a huge creative outlet, and let’s be honest, a great place to spout off all sorts of crazy personal ideas and philosophies, expertly (I hope) woven into stories and novels, but it isn’t always enough.

I miss the exchange of ideas, the explicit, clear stating of a concept and the conversation that act can generate. If I want to continue to change, grow, get better, I need that interaction. It is on me to make that happen.

My goal-Write more, much more, and post those writings here. Hopefully, some of you will find what I have to say interesting enough to play along. I look forward to our future interactions.

Post script.

I finished the 1st draft of novel #3. I’m starting the editing process now that the family is back to work and school. Hooray, or something.

 

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

9 responses to “A Not So Welcome Trend”

  1. chemistken says :

    Posting more is always a good idea. It keeps your brain fresh. Good luck!

  2. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    Hooray on finishing the 1st draft of novel #3! I’ll keep an eye out for more postings on your blog – looking forward to it.

  3. Deborah Osborne says :

    Congrats on getting there with novel three. I feel the same about blogging – it’s not so much writing enough for me as forming the good habits that make me post regularly. I’m trying to instigate those while not expecting too much of myself at the same time. It’s a tricky balance. Best of luck and don’t burn out.

    • fenster says :

      That seems like a good balance, and exactly what I’m striving to accomplish. Like most new toys, I played with this blog a great deal more during its infancy. I need to get back to that place, but with better writing.

  4. Cathy Keaton says :

    I’m not real big on blogging a lot anymore, but I have to keep it up somewhat because the interaction with other writers is just essential. Can’t give that completely up now that I have it. Good luck with blogging more!

  5. Bev says :

    I felt the same exact way- which is exactly why I came up for my goal for the year (which is pretty much just like your daily paragraphs save that I’m posting all of them! I don’t imagine that half of them will be worth the time they take to read but I don’t really care- I’m doing it for me. The posting is just a way to hold myself accountable.)
    I will be more than happy to “play along”- looking forward to it!

  6. jmh says :

    A lot of people struggle with blogging. As writers, we always think we “need” one, but that isn’t the case – it’s not for everyone, and it takes a lot of time from other writing.

    But if you truly feel it helps you, then it’s worth doing more often. Some people find it helps to set a blog schedule.

    All the best in 2016!

Leave a Reply

