Out and About, Still Writing

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2
A new month, new opportunities. It’s the first Wednesday, which means another chance to talk and connect with the members of the Insecure Writers Support Group. 

If you haven’t already, click the link, see what we do for each other, join in. 

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html?m=1 

This month, I’m writing from NYC, on my phone. I’m vacationing, researching, pondering, waiting, writing (a little). Sadly, this means I’m also missing out on the first week of NaNoWriMo, which is stressful. I will write once I return home, but will be down a weeks worth of writing days. I will need all my focus and energy to finish this year. Have any of you found yourself a week behind? How did you catch up? 

I’ve decided to not worry about making a full outline (last months insecurity), and write how I am most comfortable: by the seat of my pants and on fire. I shouldn’t be surprised at how much relief that brings. The time for altering the approach is not at the beginning of this sort of project. If I feel I need more structure, a smaller project will offer me the same opportunity. 

I won’t be able to read and comment on members posts until Friday morning, but I plan to do so. I’m excited to read about your success and share in your struggles. 

Talk soon. 

Tags: ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

9 responses to “Out and About, Still Writing”

  1. Crystal Collier says :

    NYC in November? Brrr. (Says a Floridian who used to live there.) I hope you are having the most epic time and when you get back, you’ll burn through the words and pages like a volcano on steroids!

  2. Diane Burton says :

    Since you won’t read this until you return, I hope you had a great vacation. I used to fret and worry, worry, worry but what I didn’t get done. Now I just go with the flow. Good luck with NaNo.

    Best wishes,
    Diane IWSG #92

  3. emaginette says :

    I say go with your strengths. Hot seat or not. πŸ™‚

    Anna from Elements of Writing

  4. Tyrean Martinson says :

    Happy writing in NYC!
    I just either adjust my goals or having a few crazy catch up weeks – that’s how I handle the “behind” times.

  5. Nadine Feldman (@Nadine_Feldman) says :

    Hey, I’m in NYC, too! You might be missing the first week of NaNo, but what a great city to gather inspiration from! I’m here for five months, so I’m settled in with all my computer equipment.

    Good luck with the rest of the month, and just do your best! I don’t know if this is helpful or not, but I’ve written 23,000+ words in four days, so you can do it!

  6. Stephanie Faris says :

    How fun! I’m long overdue for a trip to NYC. So many fun things to do there.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  7. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor says :

    I’m stressing a bit about being a day behind in terms of my word count. I can’t imagine being a week behind, but actually that might work in my favor as I can be quite pressure prompted. Hope you have a wonderful time in NYC!

  8. Shell Flower says :

    You’re doing well to get a blog post out and writing at all. I have been both a week behind at the beginning one year when I came down with a terrible flu on Nov. 1, as well as 2 weeks behind when my dad died in mid-November 2013. Both times, I was able to finish on time by just writing like a demon on weekends, or in the 2nd case, writing 20,000 words in two days. It can be done if you really want that win.

  9. Michelle Wallace says :

    Have fun on the trip!
    Happy NaNo’ing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

