Insecure Writer and Proud

I recently joined a community of writers called the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. The purpose is to encourage, offer advice and generally be supportive of all sorts of writers. I won’t say I was skeptical, because I firmly believe that the only way to improve my writing is to get advice and feedback from other writers (and readers). I have been writing since I was 8 years old, but I still have much to learn. I get better, keep growing, because of support and advice from people who have experienced similar struggles and situations. Being afraid or unwilling to take criticism, or quality advice is foolish, and I do not want to miss out on opportunities to better my craft.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

Some of the best advice I have received about writing in general came from a good friend of mine, Josh Hanagarne. I’m pretty sure he didn’t come up with this on his own, but let’s pretend. He’s pretty smart and an exceptional writer, so even if he didn’t think of the words himself, he said them to me in a way that sunk in and made sense.

I was struggling with whether or not a critical moment in a novel I was writing might be misinterpreted by readers. I didn’t want to make a huge mistake. He responded with a question.

“What readers?”

He wasn’t being cruel or sarcastic, but pointing out something many amateur writers struggle with- Writing for readers they do not yet have.

Write clearly, write confidently. Write with conviction and honesty. Wasting time worrying about readers that do not yet exist can cripple a story and defeat a writer.

Too many times, I had stopped myself and aimlessly rewritten a section out of this very worry. More often than not, I made my writing worse trying to please imaginary readers who might find offense or misunderstand. I heard what Josh was trying to tell me, and I was able to push through the difficulty and finish the draft.

What a sensational feeling, finishing a first draft of a novel. I can’t think of anything more satisfying than that experience.

This is the sort of thing I’m looking for by being a member if the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. I’m sure as I continue writing, I will come across new and unexpected challenges. I hope to find more calming, wise voices to help me through.

If you want to be part of this group, check them out here http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/p/iwsg-sign-up.html and ask to join the party on Facebook.

Keep writing.

Tags: , ,

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

12 responses to “Insecure Writer and Proud”

  1. Heather M. Gardner says :

    That is good advice, no matter who gave it to you.
    We write for our biggest fan, ourselves.
    We all have much to learn and to share with others.
    Keep moving forward!
    Thanks for sharing with the IWSG!
    Heather

  2. karen walker says :

    Very wise advice your friend gave you. I think we have to write for ourselves and hope some folks out there will like it.

  3. TraceyLynnTobin says :

    That is truly excellent advice, for sure! I’m sure most of us struggle with this particular problem…worrying about readers who don’t yet exist. We really should just write for ourselves and let the readers work themselves out later. XD

    Welcome to the club! It’s an excellent one to be in! ^_^

  4. Lidy says :

    That’s some sage advice your friend gave you. I try to remember the same by reading a quote from JK Rowling, I have taped to my computer: “In truth, I never consider the audience for whom I’m writing. I just write what I want to write.” Welcome to IWSG.

  5. Alex J. Cavanaugh (@AlexJCavanaugh) says :

    Welcome to the IWSG!
    Always write for you first. Don’t worry about the readers. If you can knock your own socks off, then the readers will come.

  6. alittlebirdtweets says :

    Some of the best things I learned as a writer was from a writing group…it’s amazing how each and every one of us can put a different perspective on a piece of writing. A great post 🙂

  7. tcoltrin says :

    I like that advice. It would be nice to have readers to write for though. 🙂

  8. Mandy says :

    Thanks for sharing that advice. I completely agree that you can ruin writing by worrying about others, but honestly I had never thought of it before. I’ll have to keep that in mind for the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

