What is Sacred?

Over the last 20 years (maybe longer), I have had a strained relationship with organized religion. For me, it does not fill a need, a void.

This does not mean I have abandoned the concepts of spirituality, though I do struggle understanding what most mean when they call themselves “a spiritual person”.

I understand the concept of sacred, even if what I call sacred others might find trite. Like many of the most important parts of our lives, the things we care about most are completely subjectively understood. We love strange and disturbed people, find fulfillment in places and things that some find odd. It is too easy to invalidate, belittle and dismiss what we don’t agree with, what doesn’t stimulate us.

music

This is my church, and these are my holy relics. I spend most of my day sitting in this room, listening to music of all sorts. I find a pathway to the divine through the notes, tones, the voices. I feel a connection with the musicians, the artists who lay bare a portion of their secrets for me. What a frightening and vulnerable position, sharing blindly with so many, the things that matter most, the often very intimate.

I write here, surrounded by other artists. They inspire me, frighten me, intimidate and welcome me. They have influenced me in ways I find hard to describe. They are loyal, always ready, always giving. book

Combined with these written relics, the words of so many novelists, poets, I cannot help but be buoyed up. Novels expand my universe, take me to locations I have only ever barely imagined. I am consumed by language, Immersed in words and sentences.

These places, these things are sacred to me. They are my companions, and I am grateful for them.

What is sacred to and for you?

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

3 responses to “What is Sacred?”

  1. Uncle Matt says :

    What is sacred to me is my organized religion. People coming together who share common beliefs may be a better way to express it from my point of view. Bringing order to common beliefs and clarifying what we believe in is the goal. How to apply precepts of right and good to our day-to-day life is the reason for attending church. It is human nature to seek affirmation of our beliefs. When we cannot find that confirmation, we are forced to re-evaluate those beliefs. I have gone through several periods of re-examination, and each time I am led back to the same conclusion. I find that the puzzle-pieces of life come together to make a complete and clear picture. I want to be the best “me” possible, and my faith and my religion help me move closer to that person.

    PS. If you were to line up the records and books on your shelf, that might be construed as “organized religion” ;-).

  2. fenster says :

    I would never try and tell you otherwise, and I’m quite glad you have that connection. I never found it. I too want to be the best me, and work every day to become that person. I have found I don’t need religion or even others to validate that or guide that search. Again, that is just me, no better, no worse than any other path. Music is such an amazing thing. It teaches me all the time, it rewards every search, every inquiry.

    Thanks for the reply. I miss you.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Under the Influence | Residuals - June 21, 2017

Leave a Reply

