For the Holidays

I wanted to give her a handwritten letter, something tangible that she could look back on through the years with either revulsion or affection, maybe both. Instead, I bought her dark chocolate from a local merchant and a too expensive bottle of red wine (a label I knew she adored), which was better than last year, when I gave her stolen clothing that happened to be just her size.

I’m lucky like that.

Like the time I found 400 dollars in a small paper sack while walking to the grocery store. I stood in the center of the sidewalk, holding the money in one hand, the empty sack in the other, looking around like I had actually done something wrong. When no one rushed at me or screamed, hey, that’s mine, I did what anyone would have done. I put the money in my coat pocket and continued on my way.

I think I bought a leather jacket.

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

Leave a Reply

