What I Read (past tense)

I’m always in and out, shifting between stories, enjoying the subtlety of literary fiction, the intrigue of a fast paced mystery, the bombast of some over the top thriller or the simplicity of story in something genre defying. I even dabble in biography from time to time (I just finished Pete Townshend’s auto biography-3.5 stars, mostly because I wanted more emotion, less “I wrote this song, then this song, then…”), and I once decided to read some science stuff, which only melted my will.

I used to love reading literary theory, and I guess I still like thinking about books in that manner, but I haven’t read any current texts, so I am surely well out of the loop.

I am a forgiving reader, rarely hating something enough to stop reading, or even complain about it beyond a few silly slights. The only book I regretted reading was The House of Sand and Fog, which was ridiculously bad. In close second is a book I had high hopes for – Paprika, by Yasutaka Tsutsui. It had an amazing premise, followed by a tediously slow beginning and a jumbled ending. More often than not, I easily get caught up in whatever world an author creates for me. That willingness translates into me liking so many different types of books. It has to be a pretty badly conceived world for me to look for holes in it.

I am not going to write book reviews for the following list. Instead, I will just offer titles and authors I have recently read. If you want to check them out, great.

I offer you, in no particular order, a list of ten books I have recently read, (Alright, maybe I will star rate them 1-5, just because).

Raymond Carver, What We Talk About When We Talk About Love 4 stars

Naoki Higashida, The Reason I Jump 5 stars

Yasutaka Tsutsui, Paprika 2 stars

Hakan Nesser, Mind’s Eye 3.5 stars

Michael Cunningham, The Snow Queen 4 stars

Aurthur C. Clarke, Childhood’s End 4 stars

Colston Whitehead, Zone One 3.5 stars

Natsuo Kirino, The Goddess Chronicle 5 stars

Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl 3 stars

Henning Mankell, Faceless Killers 3 stars

 

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

4 responses to “What I Read (past tense)”

  1. Meredith says :

    Thanks for sharing some of your recent reads! I read Gone Girl a couple summers ago and enjoyed it quite a bit.

  2. fenster020 says :

    Did you enjoy the last section of Gone Girl? I was a bit frustrated by it. I haven’t read her other books because of the lingering disappointment. Maybe I’m crazy.

  3. Damyanti says :

    I hated hated the last section of Gone Girl. It was a copout, and I felt so goddamn cheated. Will not read a Flynn book again. Also reading The girl Who Leapt Through Time by Tasutaka Tsutsui and find that either she’s a abd writer, or she has a rotten translator. Never read Higashida, but now that you rate this book higher than carver, I want to read it!

    • fenster says :

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who disliked the end of Gone Girl. As for Tsutsui, I think it has to be the writing…With Higashida, I should clarify that it is nonfiction, a book written by a kid with severe autism, and one of the best books I have ever read. Hardly fair to compare it to Carver, but I did anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

