Making Memories.

The title of this post always reminds me of visiting NYC for the first time. Sheryl’s cousin, Meredith lived in the city and graciously gave up loads of her free time to show us about. Whenever we would go somewhere touristy and sometimes when we found amazingly odd things, she would say, ‘making memories’, in this perfectly honest and subtly snarky tone. Gosh, I love that girl.

Making memories and having music trigger them is a constant theme on this blog.

The first concert Sheryl and I attended was a Toad the Wet Sprocket show. She was 17 and it was her first rock show. It was my first concert after returning from the mission and though I had attended a few before leaving, I was still a novice at negotiating a show, even a mellow Toad show.

It was a Toad song my friend Nathan expertly played on the guitar that I sang along with in the ground floor apartment where Sheryl and spent the second year of our marriage. It was the first time I heard anyone play a song by a band I knew with any precision.

I took my father to see Toad play at Abravanel Hall. What a lovely place for any sort of show.

Back when people actually sent mail to one another, I would get fan club Christmas cards and tour update postcards from Toad. I still have some of them in a box of random things.  Their music has influenced me and though it often gets panned or dismissed, I still find them relevant.

Listen-

Nightingale Song-This is the track Nathan and I worked on. So much fun.

Come Back Down-I find this sounds a bit haunting. Love the low-fi aspects of it.

Fly From Heaven-I like this live version. This song about family, religion and love has some personal relevance.

Whatever I Fear-Off the last studio album, which I like more years later.

Dam Would Break-A Glen Phillips live version of my absolute favorite Toad song. Lyrics here are quite good.

 

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

2 responses to “Making Memories.”

  1. Meredith says :

    I know this is hardly the point of the post overall, but I just wanted to say that I LOVE making memories with you guys! I hope to do it again soon!

Leave a Reply

