Reasonable

I really want to understand why people who usually are staunch advocates of personal freedom are so against allowing consenting adults of any gender to marry.

They are allowed to disagree, but the insistence that the rest of us just go along with it, accept it, make policy because of it, is difficult to understand. Especially when the reason is often “I just don’t like it,” or “My faith tells me I don’t like it.” I get that, but why?

What surprises me is how some think questioning that reason is itself, unreasonable, as if certain things are off limits, or freedom of speech does not require responsibility or accountability when it comes to matters of faith. Just as anyone is free to challenge what I say, argue points and counterpoints, try to understand more fully WHY I think certain things, I should be able to question others in a similar manner.

And I am-questioning.

 

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

Leave a Reply

