For No One, Yet

I have spent too much time worrying about writing and not enough time actually putting words on the page. Sure, I write this blog (which I love) and on occasion, I force myself to write something that resembles fiction, but that writing has become increasingly painful and rare.

Leave it to Star Trek to get me motivated.

Last night I was watching an episode of Deep Space Nice called, The Visitor. Quick plot summary-Jake Sisko is an old man, sitting in his house when there is a knock at the door. A young girl has come to meet her favorite writer and ask why he stopped writing after only one novel and a collection of stories. A thoughtful Jake begins to tell her the story of the death of his father, Benjamin in an unexplained accident when he was 18. Jake mourns his father but his father isn’t really dead, just trapped in subspace. At times in his life, Benjamin returns and every time it throws Jake into a tailspin, trying to find a way to save his father. He loses his wife, stops writing, obsesses about freeing his father.

He does of course, but that isn’t the part of the story that spoke to me.

At one point in the story Jake shares this observation with his late night visitor, Melanie-

JAKE: You’re a good listener. That’s important in a writer.
MELANIE: I’m not a writer yet.
JAKE: Sound like you’re waiting for something to happen that’s going to turn you into one.

Yep, that is me-Waiting and waiting for something to turn me into one.

Once again, the simple things, things I already know creep through the haze of my overactive thoughts and become clear.

I am no more inspired, no more able to see a way to execute the stories I have running in my head. Instead, I have a renewed focus on how to get started-WRITE. Write something, anything, words and words every day. Be what I want to be.

A good friend put these fine words on his Facebook page-

“It (writing) doesn’t have to be good, but it should be as good as you can make it. Don’t write while worrying about readers you don’t have yet. Words on the page. Everything else is irrelevant until the draft is done.” -Josh Hanagarne-

And there it is…my problem, right there in plain, easy to understand sentences. Get past the irrelevant and just write.

Time to get started.

About fenster

There are some who call me, Tim?

Leave a Reply

